HOUSTON The Best Lawyers in America has recognized the professional excellence of 97 Bracewell LLP lawyers in its 2021 edition. Among the Bracewell lawyers recognized, six were honored as “Lawyers of the Year” and 13 were named to the inaugural “Ones to Watch” list.

“Lawyer of the Year” designations are given to individual lawyers who receive the highest overall peer feedback in a specific practice area within a given geographic location. The six Bracewell partners who earned this distinction this year include:

Lance W. Behnke – Tax Law (Seattle)
Victoria M. Garcia – Immigration Law (San Antonio)
R. Joe Hull – Tax Law (Austin)
James H. Kizziar Jr. – Litigation – Labor and Employment (San Antonio)
Aaron P. Roffwarg – Real Estate Law (Houston)
Douglas F. Stewart – Litigation – Patent (Seattle)

The “Ones to Watch” list recognizes US lawyers who have been in private practice for fewer than 10 years and have earned a reputation for excellence among their peers. The Bracewell lawyers who earned this distinction this year include:

Daniel W. Areshenko – Corporate Governance and Compliance Law (Houston)
Andrea Broyles – Commercial Litigation (Dallas)
Nancy McEvily Davis – Healthcare Law (Houston)
Amber K. Dodds – Labor and Employment Law – Management (San Antonio)
Summer B. Greathouse – Tax Law (San Antonio)
Patrick K. Johnson – Mergers and Acquisitions Law; Oil and Gas Law (Houston)
Tyler S. Johnson – Energy Law (Seattle)
Benjamin J. Martin – Oil and Gas Law (Houston)
Kathy Witty Medford – Oil and Gas Law (Houston)
Brittany M. Pemberton – Energy Law; Environmental Law (Washington, DC)
Walter A. Simons – Appellate Practice (Houston)
Derek A. B. Speck – Energy Law (Houston)
Carlton D. Wilde III – Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Intellectual Property (Houston)

In addition, the following Bracewell lawyers were ranked in their respective cities and practices:


W. Stephen Benesh
Elizabeth Rippy Bowes
Sara M. Burgin
Kevin D. Collins
Paul W. Fox
W. Glenn Opel
Victoria N. Ozimek
Matt Paulson
Whit Swift
Timothy A. Wilkins


K. Brock Bailey
Ben A. Brooks III
Robert R. Collins III
Jonathan C. Leatherberry
Nancy C. LeGros
Joshua T. McNulty
George G. Rodriguez


Jay Aldis
Jeffrey B. Andrews
Bradley J. Benoit
Gregory M. Bopp
James E. Bradley
John R. Brantley
Heather L. Brown
Jason G. Cohen
Stephen B. Crain
W. Cleland Dade
Kate H. Day
Bryan S. Dumesnil
Cristy C. Edwards
Mark C. Evans
Jonathan K. Frels
Kelly Frels
Dewey J. Gonsoulin Jr.
R. Todd Greenwalt
J. Clifford Gunter III
Amy Karff Halevy
Warren W. Harris
Yvonne Y. Ho
Ryan S. Holcomb
Albert B. Kimball Jr.
Austin T. Lee
W. James McAnelly III
Tamara L. McKinzie
Thomas O. Moore III
Gary W. Orloff
Patrick C. Oxford
G. Alan Rafte
Constance Gall Rhebergen
Phillip L. Sampson Jr.
Christopher A. Shield
Stephanie Koo Song
Charles H. Still Jr.
Jeffery B. Vaden
Barron F. Wallace
R. Daniel Witschey Jr.
William A. Wood III

New York

Daniel S. Connolly
Todd W. Eckland
Catherine Hood
Barbara S. Jones
Robin J. Miles
Paul Shechtman

San Antonio

Leslie Selig Byrd
Richard C. Danysh
Jane H. Macon
J. Tullos Wells

Washington, DC

Stephen L. Braga
Michael W. Brooks
Jeffrey R. Holmstead
Lisa M. Jaeger
Mark K. Lewis
Paul S. Maco
D. Kirk Morgan II
David M. Perlman
Scott H. Segal