Logo for print Skip to main content
Toggle navigation MENU MORE

Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison Becomes Recipient of History-Making Texan Award

AUSTIN – The Texas State History Museum Foundation honored Bracewell LLP Senior Counsel Kay Bailey Hutchison with the History-Making Texan Award for her “contributions to the state and the nation [which] have been truly historic and exceptional in scope and nature” at the 2016 Texas Independence Day Dinner, held February 24 in Austin.

Hutchison served as U.S. Senator, representing Texas, for 20 years before stepping down in 2013. During her tenure, Senator Hutchison was elected Vice-Chairman of the Republican Conference and later elected Chairman of the Republican Policy Committee, the fourth-highest ranking Republican Senator. Prior to her Senate service, she was elected Texas State Treasurer in 1990. In 1972, Hutchison became the first Republican woman elected to the Texas House of Representatives.

More than 450 business, political and community leaders from around Texas attended the event. The Texas State History Museum Foundation also  honored television journalist Bob Schieffer. Past award recipients include President and Mrs. George H. W. Bush, President and Mrs. George W. Bush , Walter Cronkite, Dr. Michael DeBakey and Secretary James A. Baker III.