Logo for print Skip to main content
Toggle navigation MENU MORE

EPA's Clean Power Plan

Houston
Industries

About This Event

Wednesday, June 3, 2015 11:30 am CT / 12:30 pm ET - Lunch 11:45 am CT / 12:45 pm ET - Program   Bracewell & Giuliani LLP Pennzoil Place - South Tower 711 Louisiana Street, Suite 2300 Houston, Texas 77002-2770 713.223.2300
Alternate Locations Offering Videoconference
  Bracewell & Giuliani LLP 1251 Avenue of the Americas 49th Floor New York 10020 212.508.6100


Bracewell & Giuliani LLP Washington, D.C. 2000 K Street NW, Suite 500 Washington, D.C. 20006-1872 202.828.5800


We are pleased to have Jeff Holmstead and Richard Alonso, partners in Bracewell’s Environmental Strategies Group, join us to discuss EPA’s controversial Clean Power Plan (CPP).  The CPP will require states to develop and submit, for EPA approval, plans to reduce carbon dioxide emissions from existing power plants.  EPA envisions that states will comply by changing dispatch to disfavor coal-fired generation, by requiring the construction and utilization of more wind and solar plants, and by adopting aggressive end-user energy efficiency programs.  For any state that is unwilling or unable to develop a plan that meet EPA’s requirements, EPA will impose a federal plan.
  Mr. Holmstead and Mr. Alonso both served in senior positions at EPA and will discuss what is likely to happen with the CPP over the next several years – at EPA, in Congress, in the states, and in the courts. Come listen to and participate in a discussion how this significant regulation is being developed and the impact it may have on the power sector once it is finalized.


1.00 hours of MCLE participatory hours have been approved by the Texas State Bar. Questions, or interested in attending?  Contact Alisa Tristan at alisa.tristan@bgllp.com.